So why do I write the stories that I do?  Primarily because I like them.  I enjoy a fun, romantic, sexy story.  But, I prefer to read them without stopping to try and sort out what the author has said.  I also don't want to read stories that sound like they were written by a fifteen year old.  And, the whole story can't be sex.  I mean really, how many times can a couple have sex in a full length novel?  Now if there's a good plot with that novel and the sex happens along the way, great.  But if the book is about their sex lives and nothing else, I'll quit reading.  Even some of my favorite authors have fallen short on the plotting in their latest novels.  And no, I won't mention names.  The point is, I find it hard to find the kind of stories I like to read.  I've shortened the hell out of my stories and I'm not kidding about that part.  I probably cut out two thirds of my original story.  It's one reason it takes so long for me to finish a novella.  When the basis of the story is about a sexual adventure, I have to cut it short.  I'm not going to beat those sex scenes to death.  So, I've published the novellas and one "novelette".  The third novella is currently being edited and should be done soon.  There are two more but I don't know if I'll finish those or not.  I guess it depends on whether or not people seem to like the first three.  I also have a couple of short stories I'd like to put out there and I'm working on a longer novel.  Will I publish it as a novel?  I don't know.  It depends on how much I cut out.  Whatever's left is what I'll publish.  So really, I write what I like to read.  I want them to be fun and I want you to like them too.  If I'm not writing what you like, what's the point?  Yes, I'd love to sell a lot of books, quit my real job and do nothing but write for a living but I'm certainly not holding my breath.  So, if I'm writing something that people don't enjoy, there really is no point since I've already read my stories.    

Casey  



Leave a Reply.